Fractals: Beauty and Order in Our Universe

A fractal is “a rough or fragmented geometric shape that can be split into parts, each of which is (at least approximately) a reduced-size copy of the whole,” a property called self-similarity.

Simply complex

Amazing that those landscapes were generated by a few lines of computer code based on:  z = z2 + c.  Take a number, multiply it by itself, and add the original number.  Such beautiful infinite complexity created from a simple equation.

It’s too bad that I disliked math classes in school. -Math makes my head hurt.  However, I can see and appreciate the beauty in it.  It is amazing to me how our world is designed with such ordered and complex, yet seemingly chaotic elements and architecture. Math and art are everywhere. Since nature is built on mathematical principles, perhaps my love of creation makes up for my dislike of math in some small way.

We’re all familiar with fractals in our universe:  snow flakes, crystals, trees, clouds, mountain ranges, lightning, river networks, animal coloration patterns, ect.  I’ve read that recent theories of quantum gravity describe a fractal structure for spacetime itself. Even our bodies can be understood in terms of fractional engineering down to the structure of our DNA.

…Fractals are also fun to make.

Programs to make your own fractals:

Apophysis | An open source fractal flame editor/render (Video tutorial)
GNU XaoS |  Free fast interactive fractal zoomer
Incendia | 3D Multiprocessor Fractal Engine
Electric Sheep |  collaborative abstract artwork
Ultra Fractal | Offers a free 30 day trial
 FractalMakerDCR |An online fractal maker
Gimp Fractal Explorer (Video tutorial)

featured image art NonInteger Multibrot Breaking of Space by Nmondal

19 thoughts on “Fractals: Beauty and Order in Our Universe

  1. That’s awesome. I love math, but I never would have known about this one without you telling me :)

  2. I think that symmetry has always carried an inherent attraction to us humans – hence one of the reasons that we find fractals and art based on fractals to be so beautiful.

    • Hi Mario,
      I think so too. In art -I like asymmetrical also, an unbalanced composition is more dynamic. I like them both but, on people symmetry is certainly more attractive =)

    • Hi Lana,
      I want to see that. Thanks for the link, hope you dont mind I edited it from Amazon to a place to watch it online free.
      That is sad about his death last year, I didnt know that. Our universe and nature is so amazing, and the more we discover the more amazing it gets. :)

  3. Thanks for liking my post. I love your site and all the wonderful links you have put in it. Wish I was more of a graphics person…

  4. Jayme, You always find the coolest stuff! Love this website. Love it.

  5. Cool videos!
    I have always hated maths myself and never been particularly good at it, so I guess it’s a bit ironic that I make mathematically generated art =D

  6. Excellent topic, you really can create excellent patterns with different formulas. You have provided some really good resources to get working with fractal images. You might like to look at this too: http://math.rice.edu/~lanius/frac/

  7. I love fractals. :)

    P.S. I also like your new header.

  8. Pingback: Finding God, Finding Ourselves… in Fractals « A personal blog

  9. very nice video. . .cool blog. .. thanks for sharing

☺ tell me what you think...

